FIFA Award 2017: Gigi Buffon Named Best Goalkeeper

FIFA Award 2017: Gigi Buffon Named Best Goalkeeper

Gianluigi Buffon has been named as the goalkeeper of the year at FIFA’s The Best awards on Monday. 

The legendary Italian stopper picked up the prize having been named on a final shortlist of three alongside Real Madrid’s Keylor Navas and Bayern Munich’s Manuel Neuer.

Former Manchester United keeper Peter Schmeichel was on hand to present the award to the 39-year-old.

Buffon was presented with his award by ex-Manchester United stopper Peter Schmeichel.

ALSO CHECK:  2017 Full List Of 30 Players Nominated For Ballon D’Or Prize

Juventus veteran Gianluigi Buffon has been named the Best FIFA Goalkeeper at Monday’s ceremony in London. Buffon beat out Real Madrid’s Keylor Navas and Manuel Neuer of Bayern Munich to take the title, after previously being named to the FIFPro team of the season in 2006 and 2007.

The goalkeeper was rewarded for another fine season in the Juve net, as the Italians made a clean sweep of domestic honours in taking the Serie A, Coppa Italia and Supercoppa trophies.

ALSO CHECK:  Iker Casillas beat Ronaldo, Messi to win 2017 Golden Foot Award

Juve also reached the final of the Champions League, where they lost out to Real Madrid. “It’s a great honour to receive this award at my age.

I’m proud of it, but I want to say thanks to my club, my coach and my team-mates,” Buffon said at the ceremony. “They helped me to make it possible. I want to say thanks to all the people who voted for me. “I think the last year was a fantastic year for Juventus. But it wasn’t enough to win in Europe.”

ALSO CHECK:  Pochettino: Walker Disrespected Tottenham

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.